Maroubra Diggers Swimming Club has a long and distinguished history. Formed just over 60 years ago by Returned Servicemen (Diggers) from World War I (The Great War) and World War II to keep healthy and provide a structure of support and camaraderie.

In the pool the members have performed exceptionally well winning the prestigious Tobruk Shield at the Annual AIF Swimming Championships more times than any other club.

New members are always welcome. Please contact Richard on 0432617723 for any enquiries. 

Maroubra Diggers Swimming Club 2018 Season 

Maroubra Diggers Swimming Club completed one of their best seasons ever when we conducted our 2018 Presentation Night on Saturday 21st April 2018. A sincere thank you to Ken & Suzanne Twyman from the Maroubra Sub Branch who attended on the night as our special guests. It was a great honour to our club to have them attend and present some of our trophies. 

I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank the Maroubra RSL Sub Branch and their members for their continued support of our club and swimming members. This season we conducted our 60th Anniversary celebrations which were a rousing success. This would not have been possible without the financial support provided by your members. Thank you once again for your support. 

In March 2018 we competed at the 82nd A.I.F. (Australian Imperial Force) Swimming Championships which were held in Nelson Bay. 

Our most notably achievements at the AIF Championships included: 

  • 6thTobruk Shield – 4 person relay (We were the holders the last two years). 
  • 5thWentworth Leagues Trophy – 6 person “fastest” relay. (A great result). 
  • Caroline Durstan – 2nd Freestyle Age Group Championships; 2nd 100M Freestyle 

Handicap Final; 3rd Women’s 50M Open Breaststroke Championship. 

  • Jennie Symonds – 1st Service Person Freestyle Age Group Championships. 
  • John Boyle 2nd Freestyle Age Group Championships. 
  • Keran Durstan – 1st Freestyle Age Group Championships 
  • Mark O’Sullivan – 3rd 50M Freestyle Age Group Championships; 4th Men’s Open 

Butterfly Championship. 

  • Meghan Lindwall – 1st Freestyle Age Group Championship. 
  • Tim O’Rourke – 1st Freestyle Age Group Championship. 
  • John “Rocky” Vennaris – 2nd Service Person Freestyle Age Group Championship 
  • All swimmers swam Personal Best times during the day. 

2018 Club Winners were: 

  • Overall P/S Winner: Tim O’Rourke
  • Ladies P/S Winner: Equal Belinda Jones & Caroline Durston 100% Winner: Tim O’Rourke
  • 50M Freestyle Winner: Tim O’Rourke
  • 30M Freestyle Winner: Brian Allen
  • 100M Freestyle Winner: Belinda Jones
  • Formstroke P/S Winner: Tim O’Rourke
  • Junior P/S Winner: Jessica Hamoir
  • Relay P/S Winner: Tim O’Rourke 

Richard Bloomfield

Hon President